WHEN:    12th of September  06:00 PM

WHERE:     Leiden Observatory Visitor Center in Hortus Botanicus Leiden, Sterrenwachtlaan 11


OPENING Moon Gallery: Close Cosmos



Close Cosmos is a collective installation which looks close to ourselves and into the distant space. As beings we stand in-between the microscope and the telescope, in-between our cells and the galaxies, under and above… These notions of the extremes can give us purpose and help answering the fundamental questions about life.

The Moon Gallery is invited to exhibit at the Leiden University Observatory, the oldest still operating observatory in the world founded in 1633. This historical monument still plays an educational role for the University and the city of Leiden. The Observatory is designed for research and the development of the capacity of perception of our universe. Like the Observatory, the artists of the moon gallery aim to raise perception by asking fundamental questions about life. Questions close to ourselves and the cosmos we inhabit.

Close Cosmos will feature 36 micro artifacts that represent universal values and human aspirations envisioned and materialized by the Moon Gallery artists.

Participating Artists:
Annamaria Zanella, Alberta Vita,  Jone Suardi, Niek Verschoor, Francesca Andreozzi, Renzo Pasquale, Valdas NeuroVirtual, Lakshmi Mohanbabu, Andy Gracie, Emmanuele Villani, Eduardo Kac, Mary Kuiper, Renato Japi, Minna Philips, Johan Recén Larsson, Martin Sjardijn, Dana LaMonda, Thomas Heidtmann, Maria Beaumaster,  Sarah Bovelett,  Lisa Van Casand, Mateja Šušteršič Dimic, Eva Petric, Jamal Ageli, Aneta Zeleznikova, Ronald Vles, Gabriele Lorusso, Hady Milani, Isabella Douzoglou, Mai Wada, Anastasia Kokori, Oded Ben-Horin, Priyanka Das Rajkakati, Sophie Hooghiemstra, Studio Samira Boon, Anna Sitnikova, Hans Brooymans, Guy Livingston, Jorick de Quaasteniet.

Close cosmos artwork descriptions

Production Team:                                                                                                                                                              Elizaveta Glukhova, Anna Sitnikova, Mary Kuiper, Jamal Ageli, Bernard Foing, Chiel Lubbers